How to wear dark lipstick – Its a winter essential

Let’s face it: dark lips are all the rage and honestly we can’t get enough of them, day or night, you cant go wrong. Although this new take on the gothic classic is a bit more romantic, it’s still a beauty look with a real impact, which means you want to get the look perfected so all goes well.

Start with good basics: It is best to prepare your  lips for wearing a dark colour, start by keeping them moisturised and regularly exfoliated (no one likes a crusty/ dry lip and the dark colour really accentuates the lips, so have them looking juicey and delicuous), I always like to use a some foundation on my lips as a “primer”, I have seen other bloggers say this is a bad idea, but it works for me.

Go for glowing skin:  I really like pairing dark lips with a fresh Dewey skin –  Dark lips do not look good against red blotchey skin. look for a good BB or CC cream with a good coverage but still maintaining the “glow” or even complexion. It will help the dark lip stand out as bolder, cleaner and with more impact.

Find your best dark lip hue:  I love the Merlot/Camberet more purple based colour on fair to medium skin tone (this suits me best) – it also gives that vampy/goth look which is so in at the moment.

To line or not to Line: Personally I dont find it necessary to Line the lip when using a dark colour. But if it makes you feel more comfortable go ahead, but apply the liner before the lipstick.

My favourite Dark Shades:

Mac Cyber:   

Inglot 134:    

Inglot 109:    

Inglot: 293:    

Nyx Siren Deep Violet:   

XXX

LB

5 thoughts on “How to wear dark lipstick – Its a winter essential

Leave a comment